26 Dec 2013

LCA Project

As on 30th November 2013, a total of 2415 flight tests have been completed utilizing 15 Tejas Aircraft. 

Its Initial Operational Clearance-1 (IOC-1) was obtained on 10th January 2011 and Initial Operational Clearance-2 (IOC-2) is planned to be obtained on 20th December 2013. 

Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA), Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) and Indian Air Force are making all efforts to meet the set targets for induction of LCA into the Indian Air Force. 

The following measures have been taken to ensure the timely completion of the project: 

• Phased Development Approach has been changed to Concurrent Development Approach. 

• Special Review Committee has been set up to review the progress of the programme; 

• Monthly Review by Deputy Chief of Air Staff. 

• Quarterly Review by the Empowered Committee, Chaired by Chief of Air Staff. 

• Half Yearly Review by the Governing Body chaired by Secretary, Department of Defence R&D. 

• Annual Review by the General Body chaired by Raksha Mantri. 

• Formation of Project Monitoring Team (PMT) with Air Force officers at ADA. 

• Formation of Quick Reaction Teams (QRTs) to resolve design/production issues, if any. 

(C) LCA-Tejas is likely to be inducted in the Indian Air Force after the IOC-2. 

This information was given by Defence Minister Shri AK Antony in a written reply to Shri P.T. Thomas in Lok Sabha today. 

You May Also Like


Popular Posts