17 Dec 2013

Creation of New States

Demands and representations have been received from time to time from various individuals and organisations for creation of new States like Telangana in Andhra Pradesh, Vidarbha in Maharashtra, Saurashtra in Gujarat, Coorg in Karnataka, Koshalanchal in Westen Odisha, Gorkhaland in West Bengal and Mithilanchal in North Bihar. 

The Government of Uttar Pradesh had on 23.11.2011 also forwarded us the resolution passed by State Assembly on 21.11.2011 for the division of Uttar Pradesh in four smaller States viz Purvanchal, Bundelkhand, Avadh Pradesh and Paschim Pradesh.

 Creation of any new State has wide ramifications and direct bearing on the federal polity of our country. 

The Government of India moves in the matter only when there is abroad consensus in the parent State. 

Government takes a decision on the matter of formation of new States after taking into consideration all relevant factors. 

Cabinet Note was prepared for the Union Cabinet’s meeting held on 03.10.2013 which decided to bifurcate the state of Andhra Pradesh and form a new state of Telangana.

 Cabinet Note was also prepared for the Union Cabinet’s meeting held on 05.12.2013 in which assent for the Bill to form the new state of Telangana was given. 

Group of Ministers had on November 12 & 13, 2013 interacted with leaders of several political parties from Andhra Pradesh in regard to creation of Telangana and had assessed their feelings on the formation of the new State. 

Efforts are being made to introduce the Bill for the formation of the new State of Telangana in the Parliament as expeditiously as possible. 

This was stated by Shri R. P. N. Singh, Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs in written reply to a question by Shrimati Rajkumari Chauhan, Shri Sugumar K., Shri Asaduddin Owaisi, Shri K.P. Dhanapalan, Shri P.C. Gaddigoudar and Shri E.G. Sugavanam in Lok Sabha today. 

You May Also Like


Popular Posts